Park Guell in Barcelona, Spain
Place d'Espagne - Étudier à l'Étranger - Barcelone
Barceloneta beach in Barcelona, Spain

Information générale sur Barcelone

Située au nord- est de la côte espagnole, la ville de Barcelone est la plus grande métropole de la côte méditerranéenne avec une population de 1.6 millions de personnes.  Capitale de la région catalane et deuxième plus grande ville d’Espagne, Barcelone regorge de culture et d’histoire. Comprenant des œuvres architecturales mondialement connues telles que la Sagrada Familia et le Parc Güell d’Antoni Gaudi ou encore La Rambla et le Port Olympique, Barcelone est également une des villes les plus visitées d’Europe.

Avec ses nombreux monuments, ses paysages resplendissants et son offre gastronomique variée,  Barcelone possède une offre pour tous les goûts ! Certains pourront profiter des magnifiques plages de la ville pendant que les fans de football préféreront assister à un match de football dans le renommé Camp Nou, antre du FC Barcelone, par exemple. De jour comme de nuit, Barcelone propose un style de vie animé (bars, restaurants, etc.) et un climat des plus agréables. Il est donc facile de comprendre pourquoi la ville est l´un des lieux touristiques les plus prisés de tous.

Que voir ? Que faire ?

Sort By: Direction:
  • Plage de la Mar Bella de Poblenou

    Créée pour les Jeux Olympiques de 1992, cette plage est adaptée à tout type de public: que vous soyez sportif, nudiste, que vous aimiez juste profiter du soleil pendant que vos enfants s’amusent dans les aires de jeux adaptés, etc.  La plage de Mar Bella de Poblenou saura vous satisfaire.
  • Vie Nocturne à Barcelone

    Barcelone, tout comme New-York, ne dort jamais ; il y a toujours quelque chose en cours, il faut juste trouver quoi. En effet, les nuits de Barcelone sont pleines de vie ; que vous soyez petit diner dans un restaurant, ou que vous préfériez une soirée danse ou détente dans un  bar, Barcelone vous proposera une multitude d’endroits à visiter. De plus, plus le temps s’améliore et plus les activités réalisables augmentent, comme par exemple les cinémas en plein air. Barcelone ne sera jamais à court de bonnes surprises. Vous y vivrez une expérience inoubliable !
  • Manger à Barcelone

    L´Espagne est la reine de la gastronomie et Barcelone ne fait pas exception à la règle. Vous y trouverez une multitude de restaurants, boulangeries, cafés, marchands de glaces etc.,  qui vous donneront l´eau à la bouche. Le plus de la cuisine barcelonaise est la fraicheur de ses produits. Dû à la proximité de la mer méditerranée et à la douceur de son climat, vous vous régalerez avec les produits de la mer et avec les fruits et légumes locaux ! Une expérience culinaire hors-normes assurée!
  • Barceloneta

    Ville voisine de la ville de Barcelone, Barceloneta (la petite Barcelone) est un endroit parfait pour profiter du meilleur poisson frais de tout Barcelone. De plus, vous pourrez vous baigner et faire du sport dans ses eaux méditerranéennes.
  • Poble Espanyol (Village espagnol)

    Grand musée à l’air libre érigé pour l’exposition internationale de 1929, le village espagnol de Barcelone est un endroit unique en son genre. Vous y trouverez des rues, des places et des théâtres. Une particularité, chaque zone représente différents aspects de l’Espagne de cette époque ainsi que des caractéristiques spécifiques de chaque région mais à une dimension réduite, permettant ainsi de faire brièvement découvrir au public les merveilles que l’Espagne peut offrir.
  • Musée Maritime

    Ce musée est situé dans un bâtiment représentatif de l’histoire maritime barcelonaise, dans le chantier naval, au pied de la montagne de Montjuïc. Cet endroit est un lieu important dans l’histoire des échanges maritimes de Barcelone. Il fût nommé monument historique et artistique en 1976.
  • Musée National des Arts de Catalogne

    Le Musée National des Arts de Catalogne situé à Montjuïc n’a cessé depuis son ouverture en 1934, d’augmenter sa collection d’art médiéval. Il est aujourd’hui l’un des musées les importants en ce qui concerne l’art roman. A cette collection s’ajoute de l’art Gothique, de la Renaissance, du Baroque, du Modernisme catalan et bien d’autres. Vous trouverez dans ce musée tout ce qu’il vous faut pour assouvir votre culture artistique.
  • Aquarium de Barcelone

    L’aquarium de Barcelone est l’un des plus grands du monde. Situé au Maremagnum, il abrite plus de 11000 poissons. Divisé en 3 parties : méditerranéen, tropical et océanique, c’est l’endroit idéal pour découvrir le monde marin dans un cadre sensationnel.
  • Musée du Chocolat

    Ce musée, créé par la Corporation Provinciale de Pâtisserie de Barcelone, est situé dans le plus vieux couvent de Sant Agustí. Ce couvent s´initia à la production de chocolat au XVIIIème siècle  pour satisfaire les besoins de l’armée bourbonienne qui en était très consommatrice. L’objectif de ce musée est de faire découvrir avec enthousiasme l’histoire du chocolat à travers diverses activités.
  • Fondation Joan Miró 

    Cette fondation fut créée par l’artiste Joan Miró en 1975, avec pour intention d’héberger un espace international dédié à Miró, en Catalogne. Elle fut dans un premier temps utilisée pour des œuvres personnelles d’artistes, cependant elle fut plus tard convertie en un centre de recherche pour l’art contemporain du 20ème et du 21ème siècle. Il est important de souligner la structure du bâtiment qui fut conçu par Joseph Lluís Sert. L’architecture du bâtiment se combine parfaitement avec les peintures qu’il abrite.
  • Musée Picasso

    Ce musée dédié au fameux artiste Pablo Picasso est bâti totalement en béton. Il a été conçu afin que tout le monde puisse admirer les œuvres du jeune Picasso, jusqu’à sa période bleue (période allant de 1901 à 1904). Toute personne voulant en savoir plus sur Pablo Picasso devrait visiter ce musée, celui-ci comptant plus de 4000 œuvres.
  • Centre Commercial Arenas 

    Ce centre commercial unique en son genre a ouvert ses portes en 2011. Il associe la culture, le shopping et le divertissement dans un seul édifice. Le centre commercial est situé en face de la « Plaza de España » et a été modelé d’après une ancienne arène, la « plaza de toros de las Arenas ».
  • Paseo de Gracia

    C’est l’avenue centrale la plus importante de Barcelone. Grâce à son importance architecturale (elle est entourée de monuments conçus par Antoni Gaudi et Lluís Dòmenech i Montaner), elle fut déclaré Patrimoine de l’Humanité. Elle compte également les magasins nationaux et internationaux les plus intéressant de Barcelone, qui attirent des centaines de passants chaque jours. 
  • Diagonal Mar

    C’est l’un des centres commerciaux le plus grand et le plus moderne d’Espagne. Situé dans le quartier de San Martí, il abrite plus de 200 boutiques de mode, maison… De plus, il compte également des restaurants leaders du marché national et 17 salles de cinéma. Un complexe commercial pour tout type de public.
  • Tarragone

    Notamment dû à son patrimoine architectural romain, qui comprend par exemple un amphithéâtre et un aqueduc, Tarragone est la deuxième plus importante province de Catalogne. En plus de son site archéologique classé au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, la ville compte également des plages méditerranéennes. Pour finir, si vous voulez profiter d’attractions, il est recommandé de visiter le parc à thème « Port Aventura »  qui est l’un des plus grands parcs à thème d’Espagne.
  • Gérone

    Cette ville de la province de Barcelone possède un charme architectural unique. Comme dans d´autres villes catalanes, on peut distinguer parmi ses monuments la Cathédrale de Gérone, les maisons perchées sur la rivière Onar et la place de l’Indépendance. La ville accueille des festivals populaires comme le festival de San Narcisco (dédié à Narcisco, le saint patron de la ville) et le « Tiempo de flores » (célébré en mai et lors duquel le public peut admirer les rues de Gérone inondées de fleurs.).
  • Sitges

    Sitges est une municipalité de la côte de Barcelone. C´est l´un des lieux les plus visités par les touristes durant l’époque estivale, en plus d’avoir les meilleures plages urbaines de toute l’Europe. Tous les ans, il s´y déroule le festival de cinéma fantastique, maintenant mondialement reconnu.
  • Montserrat

    Montserrat est considéré comme l’ensemble de montagnes rocheuses le plus important de Catalogne. Au milieu de ces montagnes, on peut y trouver le sanctuaire et le monastère de Montserrat. Chaque année, des milliers de visiteurs viennent en ce lieu pour visiter cette Vierge, qui se caractérise par sa couleur noire et sa petite taille. Pour ceux qui ne seraient pas dévot, c’est également un endroit parfait pour faire de la randonnée ou simplement contempler l´un des lieux naturels les plus magiques de Catalogne.
  • 11 septembre

    Le 11 septembre est connu comme le jour de la Catalogne ou la « Diada ». Ce jour, on célèbre la libération des catalans face aux troupes bourboniennes il y a plus de 300 ans. Presque toute la population est dans les rues pendant cette journée de fête.
  • Fiesta Mayor de Gràcia

    Le festival de Gràcia est la plus grande fête de ce quartier. Les origines de cette fête sont très vagues (on ne sait pas exactement si l´hommage est rendu à San Roque ou la Vierge d’Aout). Le quartier organise de nombreuses activités pendant cet évènement : danses, ateliers, plats typiques, etc.
  • Fête de la Mercè

    Cette fête se célèbre en honneur à la Vierge de la Merced, le 24 septembre. Il s´agit de la plus importante festivité à Barcelone. En 1980, ce jour a été déclaré fête d’intérêt touristique national pour honorer la tradition catalane et son influence dans la société. Découvrir cette fête est une bonne façon de connaître la vie culturelle dynamique de Barcelone.
  • Port Vell

    Le port Vell est le plus ancien des ports de Barcelone. De là, des expéditions sportives et des paquebots partent pour leurs aventures. A l’intérieur, on peut y trouver le centre commercial « Maremagnum ». Chaque année, plus de 16 millions de personnes visitent ce centre commercial !
  • Place Royale (Plaça Reial)

    Très proche de La Rambla, les touristes de diverses nationalités se rencontrent sur cette place pour son environnement festif tout comme pour les magasins qu’elle contient. Allez y admirer les fontaines des « Tres Gracias », conçu par Antoní Rovira i Rias, les lampadaires d’Antoní Gaudí et laissez-vous éblouir par sa promenade de grands palmiers.
  • Marché de San Josep, La Boquería

    Ce marché, aussi connu comme « La Boquería », est situé dans La Rambla et a une grande importance pour les barcelonais, étant considéré comme l’un des meilleurs marchés internationaux. Il a ouvert ses portes la première fois en 1840, sur les terres du couvent de Saint Joseph. C´est devenu le premier marché municipal de la ville. A La Boquería, l’afflux de touristes est constant, que ce soit pour visiter et/ou acheter les produits frais de Barcelone.
  • Place d’Espagne

    La place d’Espagne (placa d’Espanya en Catalan) a été construite pour l’exposition internationale de Barcelone en 1929. En plus d´être une attraction touristique majeure, elle accueille le centre commercial « Las Arenas ». Juste à côté de la place, on trouve la fontaine magique de Montjuïc (il est recommandé d’y voir le spectacle de lumière qui s’y tient).
  • Barceloneta

    Le quartier de la Barceloneta est l´un des plus populaires de Barcelone. Créé en triangle, il permet l’accès au Port Olympique et à de nombreuses plages (Barceloneta, Somorrostro, Sant Sebastía et Sant Miquel). C’est l’endroit parfait pour déguster un bon plat de fruits de mer et pour profiter des couchers de soleil sur l´une des nombreuses terrasses de restaurants du coin.
  • Le Carmelo

    Le Carmelo est l´un des quartiers les plus populaires de Barcelone. Parmi ses points d´intérêt majeurs, on trouve : le Parc de Güell de Gaudí ou le monument de « David et Goliath » dédiés aux Brigades Internationales. Vous serez surpris par ses escalators et ses ascenseurs, qui donnent accès à certaines zones. Nous vous recommandons de monter aussi haut que possible afin de pouvoir pleinement contempler et admirer la beauté que vous offre le point de vue.
  • Le Montjuïc 

    Le chateau de Montjuïc se situe proche du port de Barcelone. Construit en 1640, il servait alors de forteresse. Théâtre de beaucoup de batailles de l’histoire politique espagnole, il fut une prison et un musée d’armes pendant le franquisme. C’est maintenant une mairie ainsi qu’un musée de guerre.
  • Le Tibidado

    Le Tibidabo aussi nommé la Montaña Mágica (la Montagne Magique) est un parc situé sur l’un des plus hauts sommets de Barcelone. A 512 mètres de hauteur, c’est l’un des meilleurs endroits pour observer entièrement la ville. À l’intérieur on y trouve : le plus vieux parc d’attractions d’Espagne (fondé en 1899), le Templo del Sagrado Corazón (Le temple du sacré cœur), conçu dans un style Néo-gothique, d’où il est possible d’avoir une vue extraordinaire de la ville ; La Tour de Collserola, qui fut construite pour les Jeux Olympiques de 1992, et finalement l’observatoire Fabra, un observatoire astronomique.
  • La Pedreda

    La Pedrera est l´un des plus importants édifices modernistes au monde. Imaginée par Gaudí, elle est considérée comme son œuvre emblématique dû à son caractère artistique et fonctionnelle. La Pedrera, aussi connue comme la Casa Milà (la famille initiatrice du projet) est située dans le Paseo de Grácia de Barcelone  et a donc été reconnu comme patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 1984.
  • Plaça de Catalunya

    Le coeur du centre de Barcelone, la Place de catalogne, est l’endroit ou de nombreux éléments de la ville convergent. Établi à l’intersection de rues emblématiques telles que La Rambla, Passeig de Gràcia et Rambla de Catalunya, c’est l’endroit parfait pour commencer votre aventure. Que vous vouliez faire du shopping au Portal de l’Àngel ou voir de belles architectures, la Place de Catalogne peut être le point de départ pour votre visite à Barcelone.
  • La Cathédrale de Barcelone 

    La cathédrale est l’un des points les plus importants du quartier gothique de Barcelone. C´est un point à ne pas rater. Très proche de La Rambla, c'est un point d'intérêt très prisé par les touristes.
  • Le Camp Nou

    Le Camp Nou est le plus grand stade d’Europe et maison d’un des plus grands clubs de football, le FC Barcelone. Hôte d´ évènements  tels que la Coupe du Monde, les Jeux Olympiques et des finales de Ligue des Champions, le stade est une visite obligatoire pour tout fan de football. Le conseil de Centro MundoLengua ? Assistez à un match en fin de semaine ou visitez son musée découvrir l’histoire du lieu !
  • Le Parc Güell

    Le parc Güell est une autre œuvre de l’architecte catalan Antoni Gaudí  dans Barcelone qui est classée au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO. Un parc de grande envergure rempli de belles mosaïques, sculptures et d’édifices tous conçus selon ses envies. Le parc contient également un musée dans l’ancienne maison de Gaudi pour ceux qui voudraient en savoir plus sur le fameux architecte. Finalement, le sommet du parc contient une terrasse décorée de céramique avec l’une des vues les plus emblématiques de Barcelone.
  • La Rambla

    La Rambla est une rue populaire située proche du centre de Barcelone, allant de la Plaça de Catalunya au Mirador de Colon en passant par Port Vell ; il s´agit d´une rue très animée. Le grand trottoir qui borde la rue est demeure de beaucoup d’artiste et de statues vivantes qui se font un plaisir de divertir toutes les personnes qui passent par là.
  • Puerta del Sol

    C'est l'un des lieux emblématiques de la ville. Depuis 1950, on y trouve le Km. 0 des autoroutes espagnoles. La place héberge la fameuse horloge dont les coups de cloches marquent le traditionnel manger des 12 raisins et le début d’une nouvelle année.  La statue d’El Oso y el Madroño, au centre de la place, est un point de rencontre très prisé.
  • Palais Royal

    Construit au XVIIIème siècle sur un ancien château maure, cet édifice très important à Madrid est la résidence officielle de la Famille Royale espagnole. Il est seulement utilisé pour des cérémonies officielles. C’est également le plus grand palais d’Europe en superficie.

Comment venir à Barcelone ?

Accessible et bien connectée, vous pouvez vous rendre à Barcelone par tous les moyens de transports possibles: Par avion, train à grande vitesse, bateau, etc.

La station de bus Nord de Barcelone relie la ville à de nombreuses villes espagnoles et européennes. Elle est très bien reliée à l’aéroport, El Prat, en passant par les meilleurs endroits de la ville, comme par exemple la place de Catalogne ou la place d’Espagne : Aérobus A1-A2, ligne 46, L77, N17, N16, PR1-R2R3 et L99.

Le Barcelona Sants Station connecte ses trains à différents endroits de Catalogne (Lerida, Firona, etc.) ainsi qu’à d’autres lieux d’Espagne. De plus, il offre des services tels que des librairies, restaurants, location de voiture, etc.

L’aéroport de Barcelone El Prat est situé au sud-est de la ville (approximativement 20 minutes du centre ville). C’est le deuxième plus grand aéroport d’Espagne, avec deux terminaux, T1 et T2. Il dessert des lieux comme Venise, Berlin, Copenhague, Paris, Londres, New-York, etc.

TOP

Park Guell - study abroad Barcelona

Barcelona General Information

Located on Spain’s northeastern coast, Barcelona is the largest metropolis on the Mediterranean Sea with a population of 1.6 million people. As the second largest city in Spain and capital of the Catalan region the city is full of culture and history. From the architectural works of Antoni Gaudi, such as the world renowned Sagrada Familia and Park Guell, to the forever spirted La Rambla and Olympic Port, Barcelona is one of Europe’s most visited cities. People from all over the world continue to flock to the city to enjoy its beautiful sandy beaches and attend football matches of FC Barcelona at their home, Camp Nou. With a thriving social life for nights out at restaurants, clubs and bars, along with good weather for most of the year it is easy to see why Barcelona is one of the premier destinations in the world.

What to see and do

Sort By: Direction:
  • Poblenou - study abroad Barcelone

    Playa de Mar Bella de Poblenou

    This beach was created for the celebration of the Olympic Games in 1992. It was created in order to attract all types of audiences; from the most daring who can participate in nudist activities or sports performances, to the most familiar who can enjoy the sun and the surroundings while the kids have fun at the playground.
  • Going out - study abroad Barcelona

    Nightlife in Barcelona

    Barcelona is similar to New York City, in that it is a city that never sleeps. There is always something going on, you just have to find it. Night-time activities can range from eating at a restaurant that is open late, to going dancing, to just relaxing in a lounge. During the warmer parts of the year there are even more options that become available, such as outdoor movie theaters and discos. The lifestyle of Barcelona coupled with the variety of nightlife activities that are going on within the city assure you that there is never a dull moment.
  • eating out - study abroad Barcelona

    Dining in Barcelona

    An important part of any culture is its cuisine, and this is no different when it comes to Barcelona. Everywhere you turn you will surrounded by nice restaurants, take-out places, bakeries, cafes, and ice cream shops, which makes it a little hard to decide what to have and very easy to spend all of your Euros. One of the best features about dining in Barcelona is that the majority of the ingredients are local, due to the city´s proximity to the Mediterranean Sea. This allows for fresh seafood, as well as food from local livestock and produce, to constantly be available. As with any foreign city, we recommend having an open mind and to be willing to try any and all kinds of food that you come across in order to truly experience that aspect of the culture.
  • Barceloneta - study abroad Barcelone

    Barceloneta

    This beach is located in a seaside neighborhood of Barcelona, of the same name, Little Barcelona. It is a perfect spot to enjoy the best fresh fish in all of the city. Moreover, one can swim and play sports in the waters of the Mediterranean Sea.
  • Poble Espanyol - study abroad Barcelone

    Pueblo Español de Barcelona

    This outdoor museum was constructed for the International Exposition of 1929. It is a very unique place containing streets, plazas, and theatres. Each area represents different aspects of Spain during that time, but in smaller dimensions. They also contain characteristics of each region, so the public can briefly view the wonders of their beautiful country.
  • Museo Marítimo

    This museum is located in a building representative of the maritime history of Barcelona, and is located in the royal shipyard at the foot of the Montjuïc Mountain. This place has gathered the great importance of maritime trade for the citizens of Barcelona, and was named a historic-artistic monument in 1976.
  • Placa de Espania -  study abroad Barcelone

    Museo Nacional de Arte de Cataluña

    This museum is located in Montjuïc and opened its doors in 1934 with a collection of medieval art that has been expanding its catalogue since. Because of this, it has transformed into one of the most outstanding museums due to its amount of Romantic art. It is recommended to see the murals, the Gothic art, Renaissance, Baroque, and Catalonian Modernism. Overall, it is a museum that brings an exemplarily collection and knowledge of art.
  • Barcelona aquarium - study abroad Barcelona

    Barcelona Aquarium

    The Barcelona Aquarium is one of the largest aquariums in the world. It is located in the Maremagnum, and is home to over 11,000 fish. The aquarium is divided into three parts: Mediterranean, tropical, and oceanic. It is an ideal place to discover the marine world through an educational perspective.
  • Museo del Chocolate

    This museum was created by the provincial bakery guild of Barcelona and is located in Sant Agustí ´s old convent, which is related to this nutritious product during the 18th century, as the Bourbon army heavily consumed chocolate. The aim of this museum is to enthusiastically discover the history of chocolate through information and activities.
  • Joan Miro - study abroad Barcelona

    Fundación Joan Miró

    This foundation was created by the artist Joan Miró in 1975, with the intention to house an international Mironian space in Catalonia. Initially it was created for the personal works of artists, however later it was converted into a center of investigation for contemporary art from the 20th and 21st centuries. It is important to highlight the structure of the foundation’s building which was designed by Josep Lluís Sert. The building’s architecture serves as a perfect complement to the paintings that are housed inside.
  • Museo Picasso

    This museum is dedicated to the famous artist Pablo Picasso. It is built out of concrete and designed to complement the works of young Picasso up to his blue period (a period of time between 1901 and 1904). The museum contains more than 4,000 works in its interior, and anyone who wants to learn more development of Pablo Picasso they should visit this museum.
  • Centro comercial Arenas - study abroad Barcelona

    Centro Comercial Arenas

    This mall, opened in 2011, is unique because it combines culture, shopping, and leisure in one building. The mall is located in front of the “Plaza de España” Plaza of Spain which was modeled after the old “Plaza de toros de las Arenas” Plaza of bulls. A congregation of museums (including the “Museo del Rock” Museum of  Rock and Roll)  serves as a cultural frame to this mythic place. One can find leisure in the movie theatre with activities for all public and business in its interior. Here one can find clothing stores, restaurants, and many more shopping venues. Overall, it is the perfect complex to shop while marveling at the surroundings.
  • Paseo de Gracia - study abroad Barcelona

    Paseo de Gracia

    This is the central most important avenue in Barcelona. Because of its architectural importance (It is surrounded by monuments designed by Antoni Gaudi and Lluís Dòmenech i Montaner), it was declared a world heritage site. This was because it is located near the most popular stores. It also is a popular national and international scene in which thousands of people pass through everyday.
  • Diagonal Mar commercial centre - study abroad Barcelona

    Diagonal Mar

    This is one of the largest and most modern malls in all of Spain. It is found in the neighborhood of San Martí and its interior houses more than 200 clothing, house, and food stores. Moreover, it is credited with having the leading restaurants in the nation and 17 cinemas. Overall, it is a commercial complex for whichever type of person.
  • Tarragona - study abroad Spain

    Tarragona

    Tarragona is the second most important providence of Catalonia because of its Roman architecture which includes an amphitheater and aqueduct. The entire archeological site is a UNESCO World Heritage site. In the city, not only are the monuments important, but also the Mediterranean Sea beaches. If one wants to enjoy the attractions, it is recommended to visit “PortAventura” theme park, which is one of the largest theme parks in Spain.
  • Girona - study abroad Barcelona

    Girona

    The city of Barcelona has a unique architectural charm. Similar to the Catalan capital, what stands out among the monuments is the Cathedral of Gerona, the houses perched on the river Onar, Independence Plaza and its popular festivals that flood the streets with people: the festival of San Narcisco (dedicated to Narcisco, the patron saint of the city), and the “Tiempo de flores” (a festival celebrated in May where the public can marvel at the streets of Girona which are flooded with flowers.
  • Sitges - study abroad Spain

    Sitges

    Sitges is a city on the coast of Barcelona. It is known for being one of the most visited places during the summer months. Moreover, it is home to the best urban beaches in all of Europe. An interesting highlight of the city is that it hosts the “Festival de Cine Fantástico” Fantastic Film Festival every year, which has gained worldwide acknowledgement.
  • Montserrat- study abroad Spain

    Montserrat

    Montserrat is considered the most important rocky mountain of Catalonia. On the mountain there is a sanctuary and the Monestary of Montserrat, which is dedicated to the Virgin of Montserrat. Each year, thousands of visitors flock to this place to vist the Virgin, who is characterized by her black skin and small size. For those who are not devout followers, it is also a perfect place to go hiking or simply to take in one of the most natural and magical places in Catalonia.
  • 11 de septiembre - study abroaf Barcelone

    11 de septiembre

    The 11th of September is known as Catalonia or Dyad Day. This day commemorates the Catalan freedoms against the Bourbon troops that lasted over 300 years. Almost the entire population is in the streets during this day of celebration.
  • Gracia Festival - study abroad Barcelone

    Fiesta Mayor de Gràcia

    The Gràcia Festival is the largest representation of neighborhood celebrations in Gràcia. Although its origins are vague (it is not exactly known to whom they pay tribute: San Roque or the Virgin of August). Nevertheless, the city’s participation is shown through various activities: dances, workshops, and popular food; all surrounded by the beautiful neighborhood.
  • Fiesta de la Merce - study abroad Barcelone

    Fiesta de la Mercè

    This holiday is celebrated in honor of the Virgin of Mercy on September 24th, and is the biggest holiday Barcelona has to offer.  In 1980, it was declared the National Day of Tourist Interest for honoring the tradition of the Catalan region and its influence on society. Venturing to see and feel this celebration is a good way to discover the lively cultural atmosphere of Barcelona.
  • Port Vell - study abroad Barcelone

    Port Vell

    Vell Port is the oldest part of the Port of Barcelona.  From here, sporting expeditions and cruises embark on their journeys.  Inside, one may find the “Maremagnum” mall. Each year more than 16 million people visit this mall!
  • Plaza Real - study abroad Barcelone

    Plaza Real (Plaça Reial)

    Located very close to La Rambla, people of diverse nationalities gather in this plaza, due to both its great festive environment and the shops it has inside.  Additionally, one can see sculptures like the fountain of the three graces, designed by Antoni Rovira I Trias, the lampposts of Antoni Gaudi, and timeless scenery, thanks to the large palm trees.
  • La boqueria - study abroad Barcelona

    Mercado de San Josep, La Boquería

    This market, also known as “La Boquería,” is located in La Rambla and is of great importance to the citizens of Barcelona, being considered one of the best international trading markets.  It was first opened in 1840, on the land of Saint Joseph’s convent, being the first municipal market in the city.  At La Boquería, there is a constant flow of tourists who come to both see and buy fresh products from Barcelona.
  • study abroad Barcelone

    Parc de la Ciutadella

    The Park of Ciudadela is one of the most important parks of Barcelona. It is situated in the Ciutar Vella neighborhood. The citizens of Barcelona flock here to find tranquility in the sprawling 17 hectares that the park offers. Also inside of this park there are other famous monuments like the Three Dragons (now a Zoology Museum) and a cascading waterfall. The environment is perfect for getting out to enjoy fresh air while being connected with nature, all inside of the metropolitan city of Barcelona.
  • Placa de Espania -  study abroad Barcelone.

    Plaza de España

    The Plaza of España (or Placa d’Espanya in Catalan) was constructed for the International Expo of Barcelona in 1929. It serves not only as a tourist attraction, but also as a shopping center, with the “Las Arenas” Mall. Additionally, right beside this impactful Plaza de España there is the Magic Fountian of Montjuïc (it’s recommended that you see the spectacular light show).
  • Barceloneta - study abroad Barcelonja

    Barceloneta

    The Barceloneta is one of the most popular beach zones of Barcelona. It was created in the form of a triangle and it grants access to the Olympic Port and various beaches (Barceloneta, Somorrostro, Sant Sebastía and Sant Miquel). It is a perfect place to experience high quality fresh seafood and enjoy the sunset on one of the many terrace restaurants.
  • El Carmelo - study abroad Barcelona

    El Carmelo

    The Carmelo is one of the most popular neighborhoods in Barcelona. Throughout this artsy part of town Gaudi’s Güell Park and the monument of “David and Goliath” that is dedicated to the International Brigades can be found. You will be surprised by the modern adaptations that are present, like escalators and elevators, that provide access to certain zones. We recommend that you climb to the tallest part in order to contemplate and fully enjoy the splendor the view has to offer.
  • study abroad Barcelona

    El Montjuïc

    The Castle of Montjuïc is found near the port of Barcelona. When it was constructed in 1640 it served as a fortress. Inside, many battles have occurred and many soldiers have died due to Spain’s political History. During the age of Franco, it was a prison and a weapons museum. Now it serves as the town hall of Barcelona and a war museum.
  • Tibidabo - study abroad Barcelone

    Tibidabo

    El Tibidabo, also named the Montaña Mágica (Magic Mountain) is a park that is situated on one of the tallest peaks in Barcelona. 512 meters tall, it is one of the best places from which to observe the entire city. On the inside one will find: the oldest amusement park in Spain (founded in 1899), el Tempo del Sagrado Corazón (The Temple of the Sacred Heart), which is designed in a Neo-Gothic style, from this part of the monument one can an amazing view; the Tower of the Collserola, which was constructed for the Olympic Games in 1992, and finally the Fabra Astronomical Observatory.
  • La Pedrera - study abroad Barcelone

    La Pedrera

    La Pedrera is one of the most important modern buildings in the world. Designed by Gaudí, it is considered on of his most emblematic works due to its artistic character and functionality. La Pedrera, also known as Casa Milà (the family who commissioned the work) is situated in the Paseo de Gracia of Barcelona and in 1984 it was recognized as a World Heritage site by UNESCO.
  • Plaza de Cataluña - study abroad Barcelone

    Plaҫa Catalunya

    The heart of Barcelona’s city center, Plaça Catalunya, is where many elements of the city converge. Located at the intersecting points of iconic streets such as La Rambla, Passeig de Gràcia, and Rambla de Catalunya it is the perfect place to start your journey. Whether you are looking for shopping at Portal de l’Àngel or beautiful architecture, Plaça Catalunya can be the launching point for all of Barcelona.
  • Cathedral of Barcelona - study abroad Barcelona

    Catedral de Barcelona

    The cathedral is one of the most important points in Barcelona’s Gothic quarter and another great place to visit. Located within walking distance of La Rambla, the cathedral and especially the plaza in front of it are common meeting places for tours that go on to explore old town Barcelona.
  • Camp Nou - study abroad Barcelone

    Camp Nou

    The Nou Camp is the largest stadium in Europe and home to one of the world’s most famous football clubs, FC Barcelona. Full of history from hosting iconic events like the World Cup, Olympics, and Champions League finals it is a must see for any soccer fan. Catch a match on the weekend or take a tour and peak behind the scenes at this historic stadium.
  • Park Guell - study abroad Barcelona

    Parc Güell

    Parc Güell is another of Catalan architect Antoni Gaudi’s works within Barcelona that is part of his UNESCO World Heritage site. An expansive park it is full of beautiful mosaics, sculptures, and buildings all by his design. The park also contains a museum in Gaudi’s old home for those with a deeper interest in the famous architect. Finally, the top of the park contains a tiled terrace which makes up one of the most iconic views of Barcelona.
  • Sagrada Familia - study abroad Barcelona

    Sagrada Familia

    La Sagrada Famila is perhaps one of Barcelona’s, and Spain’s, most famous monuments. The unfinished church, began construction in 1882 that continues today. Designed by the renowned Catalan architect Antoni Gaudi the church is a towering monument that when completed will stand as the tallest church in the world. The building is also one of six Gaudi buildings in Barcelona denoted as UNESCO World Heritage sites but stands unique because of its consistent growth as part of the now century plus of construction.
  • Ramblas - study abroad Barcelona

    La Rambla

    La Rambla is a popular street located near the center of Barcelona, running from the Plaça Catalunya to the Mirador de Colom at Port Vell the street is consistently full of life. The long pedestrian walkway that makes up most of the street is famously home to many artists, street performers, and living statues who are keen on entertaining all of the people who pass by while making their way from the port towards Barcelona’s other areas.

How to arrive

Accessible and well connected, you can get to Barcelona by any means of transportation: by plane, by high-speed train, by boat, etc.

In order to travel to the towns of Barcelona, such as in other cities in Spain and Europe in general, find the bus station Barcelona Nord. There are various means of transportation connected to the El Prat airport, passing through the best parts of the city, such as the Plaza Cataluña or la Plaza España: Aerobus A1-A2, Line 46, L77, N17, N16, PR1-R2-R3 y L99.

The Barcelona Sants Station connects its trains to different parts of Cataluña (Lerida, Girona, etc.), as well as other parts of Spain. Additionally, they offer services such as a book store, restaurant, rent-a-car, etc.

The airport of Barcelona El Prat is located in the southeastern part of the city (approximately 20 minutes from the city center). It is the second largest airport in Spain, with two terminals, T1 and T2. It departs to places such as: Venice, Berlin, Copenhagen, Paris, London, New York, etc.

TOP